Screech

The night wind screeched through the trees and chilled Meg to the bone.

“He’ll be back soon, I know he will,” she thought

She tried to make herself as small as possible. If they came, it wouldn’t matter. The Beings would sense her very heartbeat no matter how still she stayed or how close to the ground she kept herself. Her stomach rumbled reminding her why Ryder had ventured out to begin with.

Was that the wind that screeched?

When The Beings want you, you can’t stay hid for long-

When The Beings see you, you are as much as gone……

**************************************************************

Linking to Friday Fictioneers, an awesome 100 words of flash fiction link up hosted by the talented Madison Woods

7 comments on “Screech

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Lydia,

    Yours was a great story, full of real monsters turned legendary. Loved the poem that wrapped up their plight. No place I’d like to be come sundown. Good job.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • justlyd says:

      Thank you so much! I’m starting to feel like I overuse the eerie monsters lurking thing but I probably just need to write them out of my system-they keep lurking when I get ready to write!

  2. Madison Woods says:

    Haha, you can’t overuse the scary monster lurking trope, it’s part of our psyche! Use it to your advantage, you’re very good at it 😉 Loved the ending poem, too.

  3. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Talk to Me:)

