Of Fairy Love

The sound of  damp leaves squished to the right of her. She flushed all over with  a mixture of fear and anticipation before her eyes made out the shape before her.

“It’s only me.”

“Of course, I mean I knew it was you.” Fiona turned slightly and pretended to be very interested in the tree she had been leaning upon. Her fingers trailed the bumpy bark, every now and then halting when it pierced her sensitive  flesh with it’s roughness. She smiled when she felt him move closer to her. He stood behind her and reached over, placing his fingers atop hers. His fingers stayed a moment before they grazed up her arm sending shivers deep inside of her. She turned to face him, which was exactly what he wanted.

“If you knew it was me, Princess, then why was fear so brightly flashing in your eyes?”  His fingers left her arm and touched her cheek instead as his smile met her own, but then she wrinkled her nose which made him laugh softly.

“Please, Ryder, do not call me Princess. We both know those days are long past. I am just Fiona now.

“Ah, but you will always be a princess to me, with one difference, now we can be together.”

“I’m afraid that title or no, my father would say different.”

“Then we will wait until he changes his mind, I have known that you were made for me the first time that I set eyes on you. Tell me that you didn’t feel the same?”

“We both felt that bolt,you know this, it tore my world apart. But  I am here aren’t I? It’s just complicated, I’m sure that you have heard this but King Alistair has asked for my hand. You know that this would restore my family, you must know how torn I feel. They are my duty but you are my heart.” Fiona’s lip quivered and the trails of glitters streaked her face before she brushed them away in a puff that dusted the air around them.

“Fiona.”

He moved to fold  her into his arms and she let him, she rested her head against his chest and sighed contentment. When she looked up into his eyes there were still traces of glitter there but he kissed them away and then kissed her lips gently.

The moon hung large in the sky waiting for their next move….

Linking this to the Bloggy Mom Writer’s Workshop, this week’s prompt was,”Write about whatever you want, but it MUST end with this line: “The moon hung large in the sky waiting for their next move.”

10 comments on “Of Fairy Love

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Reading your post in the night, thinking of other worlds and star crossed love. Ancient themes, forever new to young lover’s hearts.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. justlyd says:

    You are so awesome, thank you. 🙂

  3. Love me some fairies! I really like this. It’s gonna be quite the fairy tale when its done.

  4. Chelle says:

    This is one of my favorite types of stories. Two people destined to be together but torn apart by circumstances.
    I think you summed it up brilliantly with this line: “They are my duty but you are my heart.” *please pass me a tissue as I’m willing them to find a way to be together.*
    I love your take on the sentence. I struggled with it a bit myself.
    Excellent story.

  5. This is utterly romantic. 🙂 I wish them a happy ending.

  6. julieemoore says:

    I really like this story. Has so much interest and description and potential for a great love story… a secret love.

  7. I love this, especially the details! It’s so romantic.

  8. justlyd says:

    Thank you guys 🙂

Talk to Me:)

