Tree Lady (Paint Party Friday)


I had such a great time last weekend visiting new (to me) blogs! Y’all really inspired me to try to fit painting/doodling/drawing in to my life whenever I could. This last week I did a little work on two new wine bottles.

I hope to finish those next week.

I also started a new painting:

It started off looking a little scary, I just wanted a rough idea to fill in- the background is something that I started last year in August and Β then just left till now.

I like her face here- after working into it some more I actually miss the softness, this happens a lot, I need to learn when to stop I think.

The same pretty much, I just added blue to the background.

Below is where I am now on the painting, I still have a lot to do but I wanted to share her at this stage. Β I can’t wait to see what everyone is working on!

Entwife

24 comments on “Tree Lady (Paint Party Friday)

  1. Wow, incredible. I don’t want her to swipe at me with those branches!

  2. artmusedog says:

    Wonderfully creative ~ like your style ~~ namaste, carol (Share the Creative Journey) Happy PPF

  3. It was soooo cool on the dark background!! πŸ™‚

  4. Annette G says:

    Wonderful paintings. Happy PPF, Annette x

  5. Christine says:

    Nice, creative work!

  6. Carol Samsel says:

    Fantastic!!! I didn’t know you knew how my hair looks in the mornings!!!!

  7. Glad you are joining us at Paint Party Friday again! πŸ™‚
    I really like your new tree lady painting…wondering if it is inspired by the myth of Daphne (I’m familiar with the myth because Daphne is my rescue dog’s name).

    Hope you join us again next week!
    Happy PPF!!
    Mary
    Mixed-Media Map Art

    • justlyd says:

      Thank you!
      She was inspired by the Daphne myth! The title of it is Entwife after the Ent/Entwives from Lord of the Rings, though- I figure they were inspired y the myth too. I’ve always loved that myth but I wanted my figure to look like she was okay with turning into a tree- most of the other pictures depict her in distress. πŸ™‚ Love that your doggie is named Daphne btw.

  8. Your tree lady painting is wonderful… and it’s fun to see it in stages. I can’t wait to see how she turns out. Happy PPF!

  9. mandy says:

    Wow…she is fantastic…she looks like a tree goddess….xxx

  10. Elisa Choi says:

    Wonderful painting! My impression on her is she’s like the statue of liberty. I love the idea of a woman rooted in the ground. Great work!

  11. Melisa says:

    Lookin’ good! I’ve done a couple of these tree ladies myself, one just a couple weeks ago. They fascinate me.

  12. Ok so I really like scary dark art and I love the start of this painting.
    Nicole/Beadwright

  13. jean says:

    nice work! happy PPF!

  14. Wow – such a fascinating painting with the branches coming out of her… I love seeing the process (and I’m looking forward to seeing where you go from here)!

    xo
    Kristin

  15. Crystal Donnelly says:

    I love the branches to represent her hair…and the step by step lets you see how it all comes together! πŸ™‚

  16. Satu says:

    That’s great! I wish I had time to paint again. But I suppose that will have to wait until the little one is out of the “I’ll put anything in my mouth” phase – so it’ll be a couple of years. πŸ˜‰

  17. jesterqueen1 says:

    I would LOVE to be able to paint. I think in images that my hands have never been able to translate. I’m much better with the words. Your art is splendid. Thanks for stopping by Jester Queen.

  18. carlarey says:

    Ooo, she’s fantastic. I still can’t get over how well you are painting these things on smooth curved surfaces.

  19. Sheri Cook says:

    Your TREE LADY is wonderful!!!
    Happy PPF!
    Sheri Cook
    HappyHorseStudio

  20. Love the wine bottles & the inspirational tree woman, fantastic πŸ™‚

Talk to Me:)

