The Snow Wolf

“Follow me.” he growled between closed teeth.

I followed, of course I did, it would be foolish to not  follow what the snow wolf bid of you. He bounded through the forest, making light work of the snowy banks, but I struggled. I was after all only human, as he loved to remind me.

What would have become of me had his mother not taken me in as a child, lost and alone in the woods? I was too young to take care of myself back then, much too young to know now why I was in the woods alone in the first place or what had become of my people.

“Hurry up Cassandra, they are waiting.”

Written for Madison Wood’s FridayFictioneers for the photo prompt shown above. I did go over 100 words, I think my count was 117- next time, I’ll get it next time! 🙂

17 comments on “The Snow Wolf

  1. Very cool story. It feels like it could be the beginning of a child’s adventure book.

    Small piece of concrit (and help with the word count): “I followed, of course I did, it would be foolish to not follow what the snow wolf bid of you.” could become, “I followed, of course; it would be foolish not to obey the snow wolf.”

  2. I’m pretty sure I was raised by wolves too, which explains my social skill set. Engaging writing tied in nicely to legend. My link: http://bridgesareforburning.wordpress.com

  3. Madison Woods says:

    I like the legendary feel of the story, reminds me both of Jungle Book and of the founders of Rome (vague recollection of that mythos being that Romulus and Remus, not sure of the names, were raised by wolves? or am I just crazy remembering parts of dreams I’ve had…)

    Great story. I liked that he was a ‘snow wolf’. Badger will like that too 😉

  4. dmmacilroy says:

    “They are waiting.”

    This story spoke to me in ways I can’t begin to describe. Dark mystery in snow mantled woods. Snow Wolf. Cassandra. Perfectly chosen names for the tone you set. And you set it well.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • justlyd says:

      Thank you, I always wanted to use Cassandra in a story(I think her myth is so tragic but it’s one of my favorites) and I thought her name fit here.

  5. susielindau says:

    Beautiful story. A fantasy unfolding!

  6. laurie says:

    beautiful, I was left wanting more, this would make a lovely book, you are very talented thats for certain,

  7. Parul says:

    Very different and refreshing!
    You can write a new and fresh version of the jungle book! 🙂

  8. SAM says:

    ohhh. Introducing me to a new prompt site? YES!!

    And you know what? This is a great little piecce. It gives you a great foundation to build from.

  9. Sensing the inherent conflict and tension in this, it leaves me wanting more. Good job.

    Here’s mine:

    http://wp.me/p1Tjpv-7H

  10. Quill Shiv says:

    This is very interesting. I love the wolf taking in the child and the child’s name being Cassandra. I don’t know if you know the mythological implications of that name, but this would make a heck of a full length story. Well done.

    This is the link to my drabble: http://quillshiv.wordpress.com/2012/01/06/drifting/

Talk to Me:)

