Family Secret 9

Luis got there the next day. He had been lucky to get his roommate, Josh to drive him home. San Antonio was only a four-hour drive away, but Abel’s car was a clunker and he didn’t trust it to make the drive.

Lucy drove to the hotel that Josh would be staying at to pick up her brother. Josh seemed like a nice guy. He was tall and blond with sun-kissed skin. She wouldn’t say that he fit her type per say, but there was something about him that interested her. There was a great deal of kindness to his eyes, a gentleness that reminded her a little of her father. She suddenly felt guilty for checking out her brother’s friend two days before her grandma’s funeral. She stopped her mind’s wanderings and managed to say hello and exchange pleasantries hopefully without giving any of her attraction away.  They ate lunch together at a restaurant nearby and then said their good byes in the parking lot outside of Josh’s room.

Josh said he would be okay to sightsee a bit on his own which made Lucy laugh. “I would think so; the town takes about an hour to see altogether.”

“Hey, it doesn’t seem that small. Anyway, you have been here your whole life, right? A town always looks interesting to someone seeing it for the first time. It’s your state park that I’m really interested in. It’s supposed to have an awesome hiking trail and your lake is supposed to be great for fishing. I’m sorry, I don’t want to make this sound like I’m on vacation. I just figured that you wouldn’t want me in the way during this time. I did some research on your town before we made the trip.”

“No, of course you should get a little fun out of having to come here. I really don’t know too much about the hiking or camping areas at the state park, but I think they are supposed to be good. My family isn’t really great with nature stuff.”

“Well, that’s too bad. I like to explore, so don’t worry I should be able to find my way.”

Lucy smiled and extended her arm. “Josh, thank you for bringing Luis again, we really do appreciate this.”

“Hey, no problem. Luis is a good friend, Lucy; there was no question about me helping him  when he needed me to help him out. It’s how we do, right Luis?”

“Yea, sure Josh because we are so down like that.”

The three laughed and then parted ways, Luis and Lucy getting into Lucy’s red Honda and Josh walking to his room’s doorway. He let them drive out of view before going inside to finish unpacking.

This is a continuation of my Nanowrimo novel;for part 8 go here. For part 10 go here. All past parts of this can be found on the  A Family Secret page:) Thanks for reading!

 

2 comments on “Family Secret 9

  1. […] is a continuation of my Nanowrimo novel, for part 9 go here, for part 11 go here. All other posts for this can be found on the A Family Secret page. Thanks […]

  2. […] is a continuation of my Nanowrimo novel, for part 9 go here, for part 10 go here. All other posts for this can be found on the A Family Secret page. Thanks […]

Talk to Me:)

