The Black Mini

I walked into our bedroom to see a manila folder, letters, photographs and old greeting cards scattered all over the carpet.

It was the original of the kit we had to assemble before my husband was allowed to come over and marry me.
And it meant that one of the gremlins had been pulling stuff out of the trunk that I kept in my closet.
“Who has been pulling stuff out of my closet?” I yelled as I bent down to pick everything back up and put it back in the manila folder.

“Whats all that?” asked my husband from the doorway.

“Our get you to America kit.” I answer.

“Shouldn’t that be put up somewhere safe? I mean what if we need it someday?”

“It was put up, in my trunk in the closet with our extra sheets folded on top. I obviously miscalculated our gremlin’s curiosity. Why don’t we keep it in your office from now on?” I say knowing full well that it’s more likely to get lost in there then in our closet.

“No, that’s okay, hey what’s this?” he asks, handing me a small black item that I hadn’t seen before then.

It’s a small black mini skirt and I start laughing as soon as I see it.

“Oh sheesh! Do you remember this? How insane, I didn’t even know I still had this.” I say unfolding and holding it up for inspection.

“What is that from?” he asks, scrunching up his face and possibly wondering if I lead a double life on the side, “You don’t wear stuff like that.”

“No, I don’t but I did wear this once. Great, don’t tell me you don’t remember!” and I stand up draping the skirt over me,” Think of this but with knee long boots.”

“Oh…Oh yeah! I remember. You were wearing that when you came to see me at the hotel the day after my flight in. How funny.”

“Okay, funny is not the word I was hoping for! Wow, what the heck was I thinking! This is teeny. I just wanted you to think I was worth flying over here for I guess.” I say smiling.

I had worn casual clothes to meet him at the airport because I didn’t want him to think I was trying too hard and then worried that I hadn’t tried hard enough the next day. Hence, the short mini and long boots. What had he thought seeing me that morning? I had sat in one of the overstuffed lobby chairs waiting for him, legs crossed looking like a professional of another sort among all the suits that kept passing me by. I had received more then a few looks but they had made me feel unsure and self conscious.

“I bet people thought I was a call girl or something- and it was morning time! How weird. It didn’t help that you asked me to go see your room and what you had brought me in your suitcase.” I say remembering the giant box of Thornton chocolates and the bottle of champagne.

“I didn’t really want you in my room just to show you that.” he said smiling.

“I can’t believe we made out at 9 in the morning! It seems so long ago.”

“Well I couldn’t make out with you in front of your niece when you two picked me up from the airport, could I? And we had been talking online forever.”

“Yeah, we had.” I smiled and I kissed him softly.

He pulled me in and really kissed me. “Hey, you should wear this again sometime….Do you still have those boots?”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Written for the TRDC prompt. This week it was:

Write a piece – 600 word limit – about finding a forgotten item of clothing in the back of a drawer or closet. Let us know how the item was found, what it is, and why it’s so meaningful to you or your character.

I went in a completely different direction then the one I originally thought of going.

Talk to Me:)

